Past Meets Present
Scroll to Explore
Loading...
Reviews

See What Our Guests Are Saying!

Reviews about The Blackstone

"Amazing Hotel"

The Blackstone exceeded our expectations from the time we checked in to when we departed. The front desk was extremely helpful. Ricardo, the concierge was AMAZING!! He went above and beyond for my family. We were upgraded to a suite that words do not even do justice for. On Saturday we had an assortment of wine and snack from the hotel and a handwritten note making sure we were enjoying our stay. We will be back and stay here during our next trip to Chicago!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2018


"Very Sophisticated!"

This property has a lot of style and class. From the lobby to the meetings rooms to my hotel room, loved it all. The staff was friendly and did a great job. The layout for our lunch and cocktail party was great!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2018


"Live Like a King!!" 

The best hotel in Chicago. Great views, great location and service that rivals large hotels in New York and Paris. The on-site restaurant is amazing, with fun and hip Spanish food and wonderful drinks. Do yourself a favor and book here. This is our go to Chicago hotel!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2018


"Fairy Tale Wedding"

Words cannot describe the beauty and history of this magnificent hotel. Our daughter's wedding at The Blackstone was a fairy tale come true.

Facebook Reviewer - April 2018


"Great for Business Trips"

Location, location, location! Just within walking distance from many of Chicago’s attractions and parks. Highly suggest to request a room in the top floors with a view to Michigan lake. Sunrise will kindly and warmly wake you up. Great Spanish (tapas) restaurant on the first floor. Would stay here again! 

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"Loving The Blackstone"

I walked in my hotel room and it is definitely one of the most beautiful rooms with a view I've ever been in. The Chicago skyline was in full view. I love the hip wallpaper, the generous closet, comfy chair and footrest I am loving the Blackstone, Autograph Collection.

Facebook Reviewer - March 2018


"Great Hotel with a Cool Vibe, Great Beds and a 5 Star Gym for a Hotel"

Was very pleased with my recent stay at this property. The rooms were very clean and well appointed with well lit comfortable bathrooms and excellent beds! Beautiful old hotel redone into a modern hot spot. Gym was excellent for a hotel gym! I would definitely come back to this property. Service was very professional as well!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"Incredible Hotel with Amazing History" 

I stayed in this hotel for work and it was one of the best hotels I have ever been in. The rooms were unique and beautifully decorated with standout features such as black and white wall paper in the bathrooms. The hotel lobby and various entertainment rooms were amazing to see because of their rich history. I have stayed in Chicago many times and have always stayed in wonderful hotels, but this one is by far the best in the city!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"One of the Best in the Downtown Area"

I stayed at quite a few hotels in the Chicago area prior to moving here. This was one of the best in the downtown area. The decor is hip, the staff is friendly and the food is amazing in both their restaurant and their concierge lounge. If you're lucky you can snag a room with either a great view of the city or even better, a great view of the lake. The gym is top notch, one of the best I've seen in a hotel.

Google Reviewer - February 2018


"Authentic Chicago"

It has that mixture of edgy history and modern flair. Art and music are obviously important. Rooms are well decorated, spacious and the beds are AMAZING! We had a deluxe queen queen with a view of the park. Definitely no complaints about the hotel. The fitness center is spacious with lots of equipment, sports quotes, art and a view of the park to work out with. Great coffee and food at Mercat.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - February 2018


"The Ballroom is Absolutely Everything"

I didn’t stay in the hotel. I was just in the ballroom for a wedding, but this venue was absolutely everything. The mirrored doors, the molding, the lighting, the view of Michigan Avenue were literally all perfect. Definitely a place I’d consider for my wedding...and I live in New York. ❤️

Facebook Reviewer - February 2018


"Great Experience"

This hotel has been on my bucket list to stay at and it did not disappoint! I loved the historic aspect of the building and the lobby was just beautiful. The room was great as well. And all staff I encountered were super nice and helpful. I ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and that was a great experience as well. I would definitely stay here again!!

Facebook Reviewer - January 2018


"Can a Hotel Get Any Better?"

My family has been visiting The Blackstone for years. Visit after visit, I see the same faces greeting us! The longevity of the staff (many have worked there 10 years) speaks volume to the amazing environment at the hotel. Front desk staff Krystina and Shanoughta always take such good care of us. Krystina always remembers our names and gives proactive service. Also, our kids are valued, too. For example, my daughters love the tootsie rolls that they have at the front desk and they weren’t there for our last stay. Shanoughta ran back and grabbed some for her. May seem small but it’s genuine. Whether Priceline guests or Elite Marriott members, you are always treated like gold.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


“Fantastic Visit!”

The hotel is beautiful, the staff very informative, warm-natured, and helpful. We had a corner room on a high floor with a terrific view of the lake and Grant Park. Bed was very comfy. Breakfast food was outstanding. Be sure to visit the meeting rooms, as there is rich history to them.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


“The Breakfast”

The food is incredibly yummy & the service is superb. Norma M. & Tekoa H. are incredibly sweet & kind and the service they provide is incredibly amazing! They made our vacation from sunny & warm San Diego a wonderfully memorable experience. We will be back! Room Tip: Request a room with a nice view.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


"One of Marriott's Best Properties"

Gorgeous historic hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was amazing! One of Marriott’s best properties - we have stayed all over the country. Love, love this hotel.

Facebook Reviewer - January 2018


“Wonderful Stay!”

We really enjoyed our stay at The Blackstone hotel! Our room was ready way before our scheduled arrival and when we arrived we were greeted warmly by the front desk staff employee, James. We LOVED our room, it was spacious, hip, with a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. The location is perfect and only a short walk to Buddy Guy's Legends (which I highly recommend). Mercat has excellent food and service but be forewarned it is a bit on the spendy side. My husband enjoyed the workout room and our dog enjoyed being with Momma & Papa. Our housekeeper was very warm toward our dog and not afraid to come in the room while we were away. I will definitely stay here again when in downtown Chicago!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2017


"Home in Chicago"

Priceless, memories made! Great staff and phenomenal rooms. It will be our new home in Chicago.

Facebook Reviewer - December 2017


“Extremely Convenient Location”

The lobby's decor was amazing and the room had the best ambiance I've ever experienced in an hotel. Extremely convenient location, short walking distance to trains and buses. I will definitely stay here again!

Google Reviewer – December 2017


“Great Classy Hotel”

My whole experience was amazing! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! The hotel itself is GORGEOUS! A perfect mixture of classical architecture and modern renovations. The rooms was clean, and the shower was to die for! It is also right by millennium park, which makes it a great location!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2017


"Views are Hard to Beat"

Classy and hospitable! Views of our favorite city are hard to beat from the oversized windows that let allow for an abundance of natural light. Details in decor, furnishings and guest amenities make the stay feel personal and unique. The history of this amazing building is felt throughout! We’ll be back again and again!

Facebook Reviewer - December 2017


"Perfect 25th Anniversary"

Our room was not quite ready when we arrived early, so we left to do some sight seeing. When we did check in, we were pleasantly surprised to see we had been given a spectacular room on the top floor with a welcome bouquet of balloons and chocolate. Later we were also given a bottle of champagne to celebrate. The personal note was wishing us a great stay from Ricardo the concierge. Our room was amazing! We have stayed at other high end hotels and this was right at the top. We were so happy to have had such a great anniversary weekend. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was professional. The atmosphere was chic and very clean. The hotel itself has a great vibe of retro and modern combined. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it from our experience!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"History with a View"

From the moment you enter the Blackstone you feel the past and the present collide in the best of ways. From the typewriter in the lobby to the modern and chic seating, you know you're in a special place. The staff was welcoming and professional. I had mentioned it being my wife's birthday and balloons were waiting in the room with a note. It's nice touches like that, that make a hotel stand apart. Our room was a king on the 20th floor with a view of Grant Park and the lake. Unobstructed and ideal. The bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious. This is our very first trip to Chicago and we will return to the Blackstone again and again.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"History and Character"

Thank you Blackstone! You made my short stay in Chicago a very positive experience. The lobby is beautiful. The front desk person was so nice and answered my questions about the history of the hotel after my first glimpses of the lobby. Then, it gets better! I was so fortunate to be given a room on the 22nd floor with a view of the lake. Watched the sunrise both mornings. Enjoyed the restaurant also. Friendly bartender that shared more history of the building. If I ever have to go back to a Chicago, I will stay here again.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"Great Location & a Beautiful Hotel"

My Husband and I stayed here in early spring this year, and I was really blown away. It is such a beautiful hotel. The service is exceptional as well. We hardly needed to use it, but the check-in was super smooth & easy. Also, if you happen to get a view toward the lake, it is gorgeous. You can see the Buckingham Fountain!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"Can't Wait to Go Again!"

Fantastic ambiance! blending the gorgeous original architecture with fun, funky modern 
decor. Most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever experienced at any hotel!
The staff was excellent and the ladies at the concierge breakfast were fun and attentive
to our needs. Norma and Carol- Thank You again!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - October 2017


"Amazing Views"

We stayed here over the Labor Day Weekend, it offered amazing views of the parks, the Shed Aquarium and the fountains. Access to transportation made taking the red line to the Cubs game very easy and you are within walking distance to most of the museums and other attractions near the lake. 
We stayed in once of the larger corner rooms at the end of the hallway, the entire western wall was a wall of windows, amazing.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - October 2017


"Ricardo at the Concierge is Fantastic!"

After many years visiting the city, I found myself with an extra 2 days (due to Irma/ Hurricane, I'm still stuck up north awaiting electricity in Orlando!) I wanted to be tourist for a change. Ricardo was extremely helpful in mapping out my weekend. He listened carefully and recommended the perfect activities (art fairs, architecture tours, museums, etc). He also recommended a truly great Italian restaurant. I was looking for something "local" and fresh & I had the absolutely best putenesca sauce along with the best Branzino I've ever ordered. It's increasingly rare to work with true professional concierge's these days who is listening to customers and not pushing the usual fare. Ricardo is the best!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - September 2017


"Fabulous Autograph Collection Hotel!"

Yet another fabulous Autograph Collection hotel! The staff at the front desk was super friendly, and made us feel welcome and cared for, and our enjoyable stay a priority. We did a quick spin through the Art Hall on our way out and absolutely loved the preservation of the original details. So much history in this building! Thanks for a great stay!

Facebook Reviewer - August 2017


"Gorgeous Gem Close to it all"

I stayed at the Blackstone for work and was not disappointed. The hotel is gorgeous with great artwork on each floor. A cool juxtaposition of classic elegance and modern. Rooms are bright and clean. The hotel restaurant, which is tapas, is top notch. Can't wait to plan a return visit!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2017


"Our Special Place"

We got married in Grant Park and stayed at The Blackstone, two gorgeous neighboring Chicago icons. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to host our special day, and returning anniversaries. The recent remodel makes us even more eager to walk friends through our 'special place' during our visits to Chicago from Grand Rapids.

Facebook Reviewer - August 2017


"New Favorite Place to Stay in Chicago"

What a gem of a property! I am so glad you are now part of the Marriott Autograph Collection. My family and I stayed two nights this past weekend and from the moment we arrived we were treated with such special care. Krystina at the front desk is a superstar. She provided us with a room that had views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan that take your breath away. The rooms are so well appointed with so much detail paid to the history of the hotel and Chicago that you are constantly learning new fun facts. There is also a wonderful local artist display on each floor that you can tour with a guide they provide in the room. Access to the subway I also just a short walk away through artistic University Center and the Wabash Arts Corridor. The parks across Michigan Ave make for a lovely evening stroll and Buckingham Fountain is a short walk as well. This quickly became my new favorite place to stay in Chicago.

Facebook Reviewer - July 2017


"Beautiful, Vintage Hotel in the Heart of Chicago"

The Blackstone is a beautiful, vintage hotel in the heart of Chicago. It is located across the street from Grant park. The beautiful architecture of the building adds to the ambiance of the hotel in its prime location. The staff was helpful and friendly!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2017


"Affordable Luxury with Lake Views"

Stunning architecture (early 20th century Beaux Arts) on Michigan Avenue, updated with modern art and funky comfy furniture. Rooms are expansive with lots of marble finishes and huge showers. Loved all the witty touches - from the door hangers to the coasters - this is a fantastic and special non-chainy experience!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2017


"Superb Stay"

Great location just a stone's throw from allof the atractions. The service is impeccable and the rooms are beautifully appointed and spotless-a must see for art deco lovers. Restaurant Mercat a la Planxa is Hands down one of my favorites.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2017