A must-stay hotel in chicago
Scroll to Explore
Loading...
Reviews

See What Guests Are Saying About Our Chicago hotel

Reviews about The Blackstone

Write a Review


"Great Stay at Grant Park"

Recently stayed at The Blackstone for a family visit to the Taste of Chicago. I believe this is our third stay at the hotel. There is a reason why. I can find nothing other than excellent to describe the Blackstone. Beautiful historical hotel. Great location. Perfect location for Grant Park. As an elite member of Bonvoy, they treated me like there was an appreciation for my loyalty. Great place and great people.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2019


"Fallen in Love with The Blackstone"

Every part of my stay here was wonderful. Beautiful room, spectacular views, and professional, courteous service. The Blackstone is full of history and charm, with great attention to detail. Several great Chicago landmarks are an easy walk from the hotel. Mercat a la Planxa (in house restaurant) has mind blowing plates. I've fallen in love with this place, and can't wait to go back. ❤

Google Reviewer - July 2019


"Elegant!"

If I owned a hotel I would want it decorated just like The Blackstone! It was full of art and historic pictures! The furnishings were beautiful but comfortable to sit on. Located near Grant Park and The Buckingham fountain so if your a tourist it’s in walking distance. The staff were happy and helpful. We had a great staycation!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2019


"Delightful, Artsy Hotel"

Delightful, artsy hotel, proud of its heritage. Helpful accommodating staff, good food, superb views. It's obvious that management cares about the property.

Google Reviewer - July 2019


"Go-To Chicago Hotel"

Amazing stay. Big spacious room, great atmosphere and amenities, and all the staff were awesome and super helpful. Will be my go to Chicago hotel from now on!

Google Reviewer - July 2019


"Very Cool Interior and Great Location"

I went with my family of 4 and it was great! The whole hotel is decorated in a way that you want to hire their decorator for your own home -- a fabulous mix of old and new. Not only that, but the staff makes you feel like a celebrity and the location is very centralized to everything that you need for a Chicago getaway. Totally recommend!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2019


"Perfect Chicago Wedding at The Blackstone"

I had my wedding here in June and it was absolutely fabulous. The Blackstone service was fantastic and my wedding night was perfect. The ballroom and hotel rooms were great. My guests were so happy about everything!

Google Reviewer - July 2019


"Another Fantastic Experience"

This is my second time staying at this property on business travel. I enjoy the magnificent views as well as the decor. The Blackstone is well maintained and the staff is welcoming and accommodating. Although my company chooses where I stay when I come in to Chicago for work, I would definitely choose The Blackstone if I were visiting for pleasure.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2019


"Beautiful, Comfortable and Friendly Staff"

This hotel is beautiful! The room was amazing and the bed was comfortable. All of the staff were very accommodating and friendly

Expedia Reviewer - June 2019


"Excellent Experience as Usual at The Blackstone"

Recently had (3) rooms at The Blackstone for myself and (2) business team mates for a show in Chicago. It was the perfect place to relax and recharge after working long hours at the Merchandise Mart. Eric at the front desk was amazing and provided us with accommodations at the restaurant and made check in easy, he personified personal service and was so nice. Jeff behind the bar remembered me from my past stays and is a total asset to the property. He does a great job taking care of his guests. Thank you for another wonderful experience we will be back!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2019


"Charming Boutique Hotel"

I attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed along with much of my family. The room were clean and well appointed. The staff was very helpful and service orientated. They helped our family make this memorable event more special than it already was. If the opportunity presents itself I’d stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2019


"We Felt at Home"

The staff here is so friendly and helpful. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. It is a beautiful property with unique decor. We really enjoyed getting drinks from the concierge lounge and playing pool on the lower level. The front desk staff were very helpful, accommodating and sweet :) we look forward to staying here again.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - May 2019


"The Blackstone is the Ideal Place to Stay for Business in Chicago"

The service is always excellent! I enjoy the relaxing working environment of the 1600 Club and the great Chicago location. The people and their attention to detail keep me coming back every time I travel to Chicago.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2019


"Our New Chicago Home"

From the moment we walked up to the front desk and were greeted by Krystina, we knew that this would be our new " home "when we visit Chicago. Krystina treated us like we were her family, and she did everything to make our stay one of best we have ever experienced. She is a terrific example for anyone in the hospitality industry, and should be an instructor to anyone with front desk duties. The hotel is amazing from the lobby to the guest rooms. Then we met Megan, another outstanding example of why this hotel is so special. She informed us of many upcoming events, and some of the hotel's history. Because of these two special ladies, we will be back for many visits to come, thank you Krystina and Megan!!!!

Google Reviewer - April 2019


"Located Right Off Michigan Ave"

Loved this hotel. I love all of the Marriott Autograph collections, as they are very trendy unique hotels with a history. The staff was extremely friendly and my room upgrade was awesome! The 1600 club served a great breakfast! This hotel is located right off Michigan ave., and is only a few miles from famous shopping and restaurants. This property sits right across from the lake and Buckingham fountain.

Google Reviewer - March 2019


"Favorite Hotel in Downtown Chicago"

Very classy historical hotel. They have done an excellent job maintaining the original historical qualities of the hotel, yet has all the modern conveniences. Location is excellent, right across the street from the parks and not surrounded by buildings as other hotels in downtown Chicago.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2019


"The Green Roof Hotel"

Great people at the Blackstone make the stay worth writing home about. Extraordinary art in the galleries, the ambiance of 1910, typewriter in the welcome area. Occasionally life performers in the lobby (classical guitar today). Little room details about Al Capone and JFK make for an elaborate conversation setup. Our kids call it the green roof hotel and we spot it every time on the way there. Close to the museums.

Google Reviewer - March 2019


"Quiet, Lovely, Michigan Avenue"

Quality appointed hotel on Michigan Avenue. Luxury sheets, soft bed, quiet room #1919 overlooks Michigan Avenue. Bar/Restaurant is very quiet and nice. Restaurant breakfast omelette is fabulous. The staff was very helpful. We had a problem with TV controller and Shannon, hotel staff member, came up right away to solve the problem on St. Patrick's day weekend! This hotel is the starting point of St. Patrick's Day parade.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2019


"Family Trip"

Great people at the Blackstone make the stay worth writing home about. Extraordinary art in the galleries, the ambiance of 1910, typewriter in the welcome area. Occasionally life performers in the lobby (classical guitar today). Little room details about Al Capone and JFK make for an elaborate conversation setup. Our kids call it the green roof hotel and we spot it every time on the way there. Close to the museums.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2019


"What a Place!!!!!"

Ideally located close to almost everything you want to see, The Blackstone is a gorgeous choice for a home away from home. We went to Chicago for a weekend trip with friends. The contemporary art. The history. The decor. The room. The bed. The soaps. The restaurant. The staff. Everything was top notch!!! We had a cute note from “DJ the bellman” wishing us a great stay. We had amazing service in the hotel restaurant (get two orders of the GAMBAS AL AJILLO. It was to die for!!!). Every member of the staff we walked by was smiling and so pleasant - rare to come across these days. The fantastic blending of contemporary and vintage made this one of our favourite stays.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - February 2019


"Celebrating its History"

This place is gorgeously done, and has a wonderful sense of humor... love all the little touches and stories celebrating its history.

Google Reviewer - January 2019


"Marriott Does it Again"

Beautiful hotel. Marriott does it again. Wonderful staff. Will be sure to check this out next time we are in town!!!!

Google Reviewer - January 2019


"Historic Hotel"

My wife and I visited the hotel and stayed in their famous suite. This suite has an incredible history of hosting presidents and world leaders. You could say it is “the room where it happened”. It is close to Grant Park, Auditorium Theater and many attractions. Great views of Michigan Avenue, Lake Shore Drive, and the lakefront.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2019


"We Love This Hotel!"

We love this hotel! The architecture is incredible. A beautiful vintage style with just enough modern touches. The room is perfect with very comfortable beds. The restaurant Mercat a la Planxa is one of our favorite Chicago restaurants.

Facebook Reviewer - January 2019


"This Place Feels Like Home"

I teach at a graduate school nearby and for my frequent trips to Chicago, the Blackstone is my home. It is a comfortable and beautiful place to stay, right in the middle of everything. The beds are amazing. I sleep so well here. When it is really cold, like today, it's good to know there is a great breakfast available right here at the hotel. I look forward to the warm greeting I get in the breakfast room from Norma and Stela.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2019


"Remarkable, Eclectic and Fun Stay"

Visiting Chicago on an Amtrak escape. We loved this hotel! The staff, from reception, to the bellman to the Market staff were helpful, friendly and spot on. Very early check-in was most appreciated! Enjoyed visiting the artwork on every floor, exploring the hotel, typing a love letter on the ancient typewriter in the lobby. Bellman got us cabs without a moment's wait, the room was immaculate (love the Black Stone paperweight on the room's bookshelf), lots of character with an unusual mix of glitz and history. Found Chicago to be a great visit, from the Second City show to tours and eats. We will return to Chicago if for no other reason to spend more time at this great hotel. Well done.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2019


"Great Stay!"

We had a great stay at the Blackstone! Our room overlooked Lake Michigan and was very clean and quiet. The staff were all very accommodating. Shout out to Norma and Caroline who rocked the concierge breakfast and the valet gentlemen were speedy quick calling cabs and bringing the car. We stay in Chicago often and The Blackstone will definitely make the list for upcoming visits.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2019


"Like Stepping Back in Time"

One of my all-time favorite hotels, the Blackstone has been brought back to life after years of neglect in the 1990s and early 2000s. The architectural details have been preserved and augmented by a more modern eclectic lobby decor. The staff was first rate, the room was very clean and inviting, the beds comfortable and the location makes getting around the city by either foot or the CTA a no-brainer. The marble accents and the mosaic monogram on the elevator floor made me feel like I was back in a more glamorous and refined era. I am looking forward to my next stay.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2018


"Highly Recommended"

The Blackstone is the place to stay if you’re looking for great service, comfortable and clean hotel amenities all at a valuable rate. The hotel is perfectly located if you plan on watching a Bears victory at Soldier Field and enjoying great Chicago blues at Buddy Guys.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2018


"Here For Christmas Holidays and Loved It!"

Was here for the Christmas holidays and loved it! The room, details, history references throughout the building, clean room, and beautiful lobby. We loved even the food we tried at the hotel for breakfast at the cafe. Also, superb location if you are touring Chicago. I'd love to be here again.

Google Reviewer - December 2018


"Since Staying Here, I Will Not Stay at Another Hotel in Chicago"

Being a travel agent, I usually do not like to go back to the same place twice. That way I get to experience different hotels and be a good source of information for my clients. However, this year on our yearly trek to Chicago I was smitten by this hotel and will always stay here when we go back to Chicago. I loved the location, the staff and the room. They provided the nicest robes in the rooms, so of course I had to purchase one. It is so soft and rich looking. The room was nice and spacious as was the bathroom. The light soothing sound of the EL at night actually put me to sleep. We had a lovely room overlooking Grant Park. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. You can't go wrong staying here.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2018


"Best Hotel in Chicago!"

First impressions are everything and from the moment we pulled up in our car to the moment we left the building, the staff was warm-welcoming and left a great impression on us. Our room was ready before we expected and we had a fantastic view of Michigan Ave. and Grant Park. We stayed in a one-bed King room but the size was perfect for us. The bathroom is top-notch and even had a TV within the mirror! Rain shower head and fantastic lighting! The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. We also ran into a celebrity (I won't name names) in the lobby and shared an elevator with him! The Blackstone is a great hotel if you are traveling or just looking for a little staycation :)

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2018


"Grand, Historic, and Contemporary - Rolled Into One"

I visited The Blackstone as a Platinum Premiere member over Thanksgiving. Upon entering the property, I was in awe with the historic and artistic details, mostly how they maintained the building. It was well decorated already for the holiday season. Very regal, sleek and gives you the Great Gatsby feel. If you're a hotel and art geek and aficionado like me, please visit the Art Hall which showcases different works of art from different talented artists. Visit the well-designed fitness center too which highlights the different sports landmarks and sports legends from Chitown. I would also like to thank the front desk team who went above and beyond my standards of guest services and for being able to cater to my needs and wants. They were able to find a very decent room upgrade for me which boasts an awesome view of Grant Park, the Buckingham For and the Navy Pier with the wheel. This definitely made my Thanksgiving memorable. Apologies if I was not able to get your name, she's the lovely lady working on Thursday and Friday around noon to 2 pm. Thanks to the guy too who spoke to the manager to get this request. Excellent customer service! The room is well appointed with furnishings with character. Very comfortable bed too and the bathroom was heavenly. To add on, the bath amenities were so bougie (loved the black soap and the fragrant body wash). Since this hotel is a historical landmark, a few US presidents have visited the property which adds to its historical value. There is also a POTUS room on the 23rd floor which is very interesting (probably my reason to come back and find out what's that all about).

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2018


"A Fabulous Weekend"

We had a fabulous weekend at The Blackstone Hotel. Such a magnificently beautiful place to play, sleep, shop and dine all along the lakefront. The staff was so friendly and the bed and large bath were divine.

Facebook Reviewer - November 2018


"Everything Was Perfect"

Hosted a corporate luncheon for 15 guests this fall. Everything was perfect, and all of my attendees raved about the food. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. Will definitely be back!

Facebook Reviewer - November 2018


"An Amazing Stay"

We had an amazing stay. The customer service was wonderful. The beds were comfortable. And so close to so much!!

Facebook Reviewer - November 2018


"Excellent Experience at The Blackstone"

Great experience! Room was spacious. The doorman was very knowledgeable about area eats and the local history. Close to local amenities like the Field Museum and the Bean. We had a great time exploring the hotel as well as the surrounding area. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay at the Blackstone the next time we are in Chicago.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2018


"Loved This Hotel!"

We were celebrating a birthday and we had a special treat in the room waiting for us. The front desk was exceptionally sweet and helpful- we felt very special checking in and they continued their 5-star attitude all weekend! Rooms were clean and had a gorgeous view of the city, great location, beautiful lobby, great art gallery downstairs. We will definitely stay here again!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2018


"Where Contemporary Meets Chicago History"

Where contemporary meets Chicago history. Charming & elegant. Our stay was wonderful!

Facebook Reviewer - November 2018


"PERFECTION"

This hotel is perfect in so many ways. The look. The feel. and YES THE LOCATION! I stayed here while in town for the Chicago Marathon. Right across from Grant Park and near Millennium Park. You can pretty much walk to the best sites and attractions of Chicago. The design and environment of the hotel is cool, relaxing and charming. With all the amenities that you need. We will be back. For us its the only place to stay!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - October 2018


"Beautiful Place to Stay!"

Beautiful place to stay! Amazing view of the Sear’s Tower, right outside my window! Loved the Decor of this place! Central to everything you want to see in downtown Chicago! ❤️

Facebook Reviewer - September 2018


"Great Hotel with an Eclectic Vibe"

I felt like I was walking back in time the moment I entered the lobby. Great furniture and feel in the common areas and in the rooms. The staff were helpful and efficient. Norma and Antonio in the lower level 1600 lounge were excellent. They were personable and attentive. We had a lovely conversation about Chicago’s culture and nightlife. Very welcoming!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - September 2018


"Always a Great Stay"

My fiancé and I stayed at the Blackstone Hotel this past July to see the event space for our wedding there. We coordinated with the hotel and they were very receptive to our arrival. The Valet was very helpful and quick to assist us with our luggage. We walked inside and the lobby is like something out of a magazine. Completely amazing! Well decorated and not too cluttered. We checked in and we were on our way up to our room in minutes. The room was beautiful. We had a lake view room and it was quite an awesome view. We were high enough that the trees in Millennium Park didn't obscure our view of the bright blue Lake Michigan. Once we got settled, we went out for a bit and returned to see the event space. The ballroom is nothing short of breathtaking. Still with the same views as our room, just on a lower floor. You can still see the blue lake peak through the tops of the trees. The detail and scrollwork in the trim and balcony are quite magnificent. We were able to see the space where we would hold our cocktail hour and it reminded me of a really wealthy 1950's party. Everything was well preserved from the old building and still looked brand new with a modern style. Quite spectacular. The cleaning staff would make up the room quite quickly and efficiently when we left and came back. We were always greeted by the front desk if they weren't busy. Overall it was a great experience and I would say that The Blackstone sets the bar pretty high for other hotels in the area.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - September 2018


"Beautiful, Accommodating, and You KNOW You're in Chicago!"

I always enjoy staying at Autograph Collection hotels because they really are grounded in the city instead of being "somewhere in travel-land", so I chose The Blackstone for a pre-cruise stay in Chicago, and I'm glad I did. We are Marriott Platinium, so we were given a corner room on a high floor with a nice view of the Sears Tower on one side (and an intimate view of the Chicago Hilton on the other side). The concierge lounge was, as always, pleasant, and I want to give a shout-out to Norma and Stela for making us feel at home. The art at the Blackstone is interesting - we were curious about the print over the bed in the room, so I asked Krystina at the front desk, and she researched the artist for me (it was by David Soukup, and with that, I found the information about the hotel art project online). Again, great service. I even found the in-room literature interesting, and, again, grounded in Chicago. Besides a few books, I enjoyed "The Curator", the Blackstone's version of the typical "about the hotel and its amenities" brochure - this one went into detail about the artwork on every floor, and the hotel's history, as well as giving the price of a phone call. Even the notepad and the coasters were site-specific. I really enjoyed my stay (and am glad they were able to give us a 3 pm check out) and would return quite happily.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - September 2018


"Intimate & Luxurious, Location-Critical Choice for Museum Junkies"

Our room was incredibly comfortable and with all the modern amenities, particularly a spacious shower area (often a sacrifice for a historic property stay). The staff was spot-on with all our needs and questions and as first-time Chicago visitors, we had a lot! Being so close to the parks and the museums and the art institute was a dream arrangement. All were within the distance of a nice stroll. It was also nice that the Starbucks was right downstairs to grab a hot coffee or cocoa before starting our adventures. We loved our time at the Blackstone. It was a romantic, dream vacation for us and we would be very happy to return.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2018


"Absolutely Perfect"

I usually wait until after I check out to write my review, but I am still laying in this perfect pillow-of-a-dream bed as I type. I have stayed in countless boutique hotels in Chicago, and The Blackstone is definitely tied at number one for me. It has charm, elegance, and class without the snobbery. It has comfort and care without the cheesiness. It is the perfect balance of all things a hotel should be. I came here to celebrate my son’s birthday with his best friend, and take them both to see a Drake concert. After the concert, I realized I didn’t bring anything for them to drink and they were “Soooooo thirsty!” (Teen boys.) The bartender downstairs made makeshift to-go cups with lids and straws for me, labeled them for me, and sent me on my way with a knowing smile. He went above and beyond.  The front desk had booked me a king bed suite, which would not have worked with me and two teens. They were also so very flexible and helpful in booking another room which better fit my needs. I will most definitely be back to this establishment— with my husband next time. It is romantic with their live musicians downstairs in the lobby and the gorgeousness and politeness that only comes from a bygone era.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2018


"So Unique!"

LOVED this hotel! It is steeped in history and beautiful architectural details. We had a fantastic view of the park and Lake Michigan! Even though the hotel is over 100 years old, our room was very nice and modern with all of the usual amenities. A member of the staff who was setting up some tables on Art Hall obviously loved where he worked. He was so friendly answering our questions and then spontaneously offered to show us to the Chrystal Ballroom-which is gorgeous!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2018


"Live Jazz - Yes Please!"

The location was perfect, on Michigan Avenue but not too busy. The room and amenities were very nice. The ambiance was quite cool which is just what we wanted. And Live Jazz in the lobby? Say no more. Breakfast at Mercat a la Planxa was outstanding. Chorizo sausage from Spain rounded out a perfect weekend getaway.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2018


"Wedding at The Blackstone"

My daughter had her wedding at the Blackstone in April of 2018 and I can not say enough about this hotel. We saw a lot of Chicago hotels before we chose the Blackstone and we are still thrilled with our choice of this venue! The Art Gallery for the cocktail reception and Beaux Arts ballroom are among the most beautiful in the city and the perfect setting for a formal wedding. The staff handled every little detail, on the day of the wedding and at Sunday morning brunch so that my husband and I could relax and enjoy my daughter's wedding. The beauty of the venue, outstanding service, excellent food and assistance of their wedding planner, Ellie Lowe made for a magical weekend. We are all grateful.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2018


"The Right Hotel in Chicago"

I stayed at the Blackstone during a week-long conference. And what a treat!!!! All aspects of the hotel were excellent. Cleanliness. Location. Amenities. Room comfort. Did I mention location???? I was lucky enough to be in Chicago during the Taste of Chicago, 2 blocks from the Blackstone!!!! When I return, there is only one hotel for me... The Blackstone!!!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2018


"Wow! Great Experience - Amazing Room"

I was lucky enough to stay in one of the historic suites. Honestly- I was blown away! Can’t even describe the wonders of suite 915- but if you’re looking for something truly luxurious with an amazing view of the water- book 915! I was there on business and the room made my trip a treat! Staff was wonderful- from check-in and throughout my stay. Historic treasure- seems to have been completely restored to be 4star new- while still maintaining the ornate details of this truly special hotel. I haven’t stayed in many Autograph hotels- this one made me search for one for my next trip to another city. Thanks Blackstone staff for a lovely stay! I’ll be back!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2018


"Wonderful Service and Exceptional Value"

This was by far one of the best hotel experiences that I have had! Not only was the hotel absolutely impeccable, but the staff went above and beyond to make the stay just perfect. I travel about 2-3 weeks a month and decided to take a small holiday with my husband in between trips. We had a stunning room overlooking the park and Lake Michigan. Every detail of the hotel was well thought out and beautiful. I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. We will definitely be back soon!!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2018


"A Fantastic Experience"

What a fantastic experience! Most downtown Chicago hotels have at least one pain point between checkout, stay, and check out, but every part of this experience was great. Getting parked and checked in was smooth and hassle-free. The room and amenities were great. The area is a lot of fun. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is the first hotel stay in the area that I’ve ever had that wasn’t disappointing in some way. I can’t wait to stay there again.

Facebook Reviewer - June 2018


"Top Notch Hotel"

As someone who travels frequently, I often find myself being very picky regarding the hotels where I stay. The Blackstone seems only to improve and get better with each stay. The lobby, the spacious rooms, the large well-appointed baths, and the overall service is simply top notch in every aspect. The concierge lounge is one of the nicest in the Marriott chain. If you are looking for a unique top notch hotel you should check out the Blackstone.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - May 2018


"Very Sophisticated!"

This property has a lot of style and class. From the lobby to the meetings rooms to my hotel room, loved it all. The staff was friendly and did a great job. The layout for our lunch and cocktail party was great!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2018


"Live Like a King!!" 

The best hotel in Chicago. Great views, great location, and service that rivals large hotels in New York and Paris. The on-site restaurant is amazing, with fun and hip Spanish food and wonderful drinks. Do yourself a favor and book here. This is our go-to Chicago hotel!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - April 2018


"Fairy Tale Wedding"

Words cannot describe the beauty and history of this magnificent hotel. Our daughter's wedding at The Blackstone was a fairy tale come true.

Facebook Reviewer - April 2018


"Great for Business Trips"

Location, location, location! Just within walking distance from many of Chicago’s attractions and parks. Highly suggest requesting a room on the top floors with a view to Michigan lake. Sunrise will kindly and warmly wake you up. Great Spanish (tapas) restaurant on the first floor. Would stay here again! 

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"Loving The Blackstone"

I walked into my hotel room and it is definitely one of the most beautiful rooms with a view I've ever been to. The Chicago skyline was in full view. I love the hip wallpaper, the generous closet, comfy chair and footrest I am loving the Blackstone, Autograph Collection.

Facebook Reviewer - March 2018


"Great Hotel with a Cool Vibe, Great Beds and a 5 Star Gym for a Hotel"

Was very pleased with my recent stay at this property. The rooms were very clean and well appointed with well lit comfortable bathrooms and excellent beds! Beautiful old hotel was redone into a modern hot spot. The gym was excellent for a hotel gym! I would definitely come back to this property. Service was very professional as well!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"Incredible Hotel with Amazing History" 

I stayed in this hotel for work and it was one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The rooms were unique and beautifully decorated with standout features such as black and white wallpaper in the bathrooms. The hotel lobby and various entertainment rooms were amazing to see because of their rich history. I have stayed in Chicago many times and have always stayed in wonderful hotels, but this one is by far the best in the city!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - March 2018


"One of the Best in the Downtown Area"

I stayed at quite a few hotels in the Chicago area prior to moving here. This was one of the best in the downtown area. The decor is hip, the staff is friendly and the food is amazing in both their restaurant and their concierge lounge. If you're lucky you can snag a room with either a great view of the city or even better, a great view of the lake. The gym is top notch, one of the best I've seen in a hotel.

Google Reviewer - February 2018


"Authentic Chicago"

It has that mixture of edgy history and modern flair. Art and music are obviously important. Rooms are well decorated, spacious and the beds are AMAZING! We had a deluxe queen queen with a view of the park. Definitely no complaints about the hotel. The fitness center is spacious with lots of equipment, sports quotes, art and a view of the park to work out with. Great coffee and food at Mercat.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - February 2018


"The Ballroom is Absolutely Everything"

I didn’t stay at the hotel. I was just in the ballroom for a wedding, but this venue was absolutely everything. The mirrored doors, the molding, the lighting, the view of Michigan Avenue were literally all perfect. Definitely a place I’d consider for my wedding...and I live in New York. ❤️

Facebook Reviewer - February 2018


"Great Experience"

This hotel has been on my bucket list to stay at and it did not disappoint! I loved the historical aspect of the building and the lobby was just beautiful. The room was great as well. And all the staff I encountered were super nice and helpful. I ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and that was a great experience as well. I would definitely stay here again!!

Facebook Reviewer - January 2018


"Can a Hotel Get Any Better?"

My family has been visiting The Blackstone for years. Visit after visit, I see the same faces greeting us! The longevity of the staff (many have worked there 10 years) speaks volume to the amazing environment at the hotel. Front desk staff Krystina and Shanoughta always take such good care of us. Krystina always remembers our names and gives proactive service. Also, our kids are valued, too. For example, my daughters love the tootsie rolls that they have at the front desk and they weren’t there for our last stay. Shanoughta ran back and grabbed some for her. May seem small but it’s genuine. Whether Priceline guests or Elite Marriott members, you are always treated like gold.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


“Fantastic Visit!”

The hotel is beautiful, the staff very informative, warm-natured, and helpful. We had a corner room on a high floor with a terrific view of the lake and Grant Park. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast food was outstanding. Be sure to visit the meeting rooms, as there is a rich history to them.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


“The Breakfast”

The food is incredibly yummy & the service is superb. Norma M. & Tekoa H. are incredibly sweet & kind and the service they provide is incredibly amazing! They made our vacation from sunny & warm San Diego a wonderfully memorable experience. We will be back! Room Tip: Request a room with a nice view.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - January 2018


"One of Marriott's Best Properties"

Gorgeous historic hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was amazing! One of Marriott’s best properties - we have stayed all over the country. Love, love this hotel.

Facebook Reviewer - January 2018


“Wonderful Stay!”

We really enjoyed our stay at The Blackstone hotel! Our room was ready way before our scheduled arrival and when we arrived we were greeted warmly by the front desk staff employee, James. We LOVED our room, it was spacious, hip, with a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. The location is perfect and only a short walk to Buddy Guy's Legends (which I highly recommend). Mercat has excellent food and service but be forewarned it is a bit on the spendy side. My husband enjoyed the workout room and our dog enjoyed being with Momma & Papa. Our housekeeper was very warm toward our dog and not afraid to come in the room while we were away. I will definitely stay here again when in downtown Chicago!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2017


"Home in Chicago"

Priceless, memories made! Great staff and phenomenal rooms. It will be our new home in Chicago.

Facebook Reviewer - December 2017


“Extremely Convenient Location”

The lobby's decor was amazing and the room had the best ambiance I've ever experienced in a hotel. Extremely convenient location, short walking distance to trains and buses. I will definitely stay here again!

Google Reviewer – December 2017


“Great Classy Hotel”

My whole experience was amazing! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! The hotel itself is GORGEOUS! A perfect mixture of classical architecture and modern renovations. The rooms were clean, and the shower was to die for! It is also right by millennium park, which makes it a great location!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - December 2017


"Views are Hard to Beat"

Classy and hospitable! Views of our favorite city are hard to beat from the oversized windows that let allow for an abundance of natural light. Details in decor, furnishings and guest amenities make the stay feel personal and unique. The history of this amazing building is felt throughout! We’ll be back again and again!

Facebook Reviewer - December 2017


"Perfect 25th Anniversary"

Our room was not quite ready when we arrived early, so we left to do some sightseeing. When we did check in, we were pleasantly surprised to see we had been given a spectacular room on the top floor with a welcome bouquet of balloons and chocolate. Later we were also given a bottle of champagne to celebrate. The personal note was wishing us a great stay from Ricardo the concierge. Our room was amazing! We have stayed at other high-end hotels and this was right at the top. We were so happy to have had such a great anniversary weekend. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was professional. The atmosphere was chic and very clean. The hotel itself has a great vibe of retro and modern combined. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it from our experience!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"History with a View"

From the moment you enter The Blackstone, you feel the past and the present collide in the best of ways. From the typewriter in the lobby to the modern and chic seating, you know you're in a special place. The staff was welcoming and professional. I had mentioned it being my wife's birthday and balloons were waiting in the room with a note. It's nice touches like that, that make a hotel stand apart. Our room was a king on the 20th floor with a view of Grant Park and the lake. Unobstructed and ideal. The bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious. This is our very first trip to Chicago and we will return to the Blackstone again and again.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"History and Character"

Thank you, Blackstone! You made my short stay in Chicago a very positive experience. The lobby is beautiful. The front desk person was so nice and answered my questions about the history of the hotel after my first glimpses of the lobby. Then, it gets better! I was so fortunate to be given a room on the 22nd floor with a view of the lake. Watched the sunrise both mornings. Enjoyed the restaurant also. A friendly bartender that shared more history of the building. If I ever have to go back to Chicago, I will stay here again.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"Great Location & a Beautiful Hotel"

My Husband and I stayed here in early spring this year, and I was really blown away. It is such a beautiful hotel. The service is exceptional as well. We hardly needed to use it, but the check-in was super smooth & easy. Also, if you happen to get a view of the lake, it is gorgeous. You can see the Buckingham Fountain!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - November 2017


"Can't Wait to Go Again!"

Fantastic ambiance! blending the gorgeous original architecture with fun, funky modern decor. Most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever experienced at any hotel! The staff was excellent and the ladies at the concierge breakfast were fun and attentive to our needs. Norma and Carol - Thank You again!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - October 2017


"Amazing Views"

We stayed here over the Labor Day Weekend, it offered amazing views of the parks, the Shed Aquarium, and the fountains. Access to transportation made taking the red line to the Cubs game very easy and you are within walking distance to most of the museums and other attractions near the lake. We stayed in one of the larger corner rooms at the end of the hallway, the entire western wall was a wall of windows, amazing.

TripAdvisor Reviewer - October 2017


"Fabulous Autograph Collection Hotel!"

Yet another fabulous Autograph Collection hotel! The staff at the front desk was super friendly, and made us feel welcome and cared for, and our enjoyable stay a priority. We did a quick spin through the Art Hall on our way out and absolutely loved the preservation of the original details. So much history in this building! Thanks for a great stay!

Facebook Reviewer - August 2017


"Gorgeous Gem Close to it all"

I stayed at the Blackstone for work and was not disappointed. The hotel is gorgeous with great artwork on each floor. A cool juxtaposition of classic elegance and modern. Rooms are bright and clean. The hotel restaurant, which is tapas, is top notch. Can't wait to plan a return visit!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - August 2017


"Our Special Place"

We got married in Grant Park and stayed at The Blackstone, two gorgeous neighboring Chicago icons. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to host our special day, and returning anniversaries. The recent remodel makes us even more eager to walk friends through our 'special place' during our visits to Chicago from Grand Rapids.

Facebook Reviewer - August 2017


"New Favorite Place to Stay in Chicago"

What a gem of a property! I am so glad you are now part of the Marriott Autograph Collection. My family and I stayed two nights this past weekend and from the moment we arrived, we were treated with such special care. Krystina at the front desk is a superstar. She provided us with a room that had views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan that take your breath away. The rooms are so well appointed with so much detail paid to the history of the hotel and Chicago that you are constantly learning new fun facts. There is also a wonderful local artist display on each floor that you can tour with a guide they provide in the room. Access to the subway I also just a short walk away through the artistic University Center and the Wabash Arts Corridor. The parks across Michigan Ave make for a lovely evening stroll and Buckingham Fountain is a short walk as well. This quickly became my new favorite place to stay in Chicago.

Facebook Reviewer - July 2017


"Beautiful, Vintage Hotel in the Heart of Chicago"

The Blackstone is a beautiful, vintage hotel in the heart of Chicago. It is located across the street from Grant Park. The beautiful architecture of the building adds to the ambiance of the hotel in its prime location. The staff was helpful and friendly!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - July 2017


"Affordable Luxury with Lake Views"

Stunning architecture (early 20th-century Beaux-Arts) on Michigan Avenue, updated with modern art and funky comfy furniture. Rooms are expansive with lots of marble finishes and huge showers. Loved all the witty touches - from the door hangers to the coasters - this is a fantastic and special non-chainy experience!

TripAdvisor Reviewer - June 2017

Load More